Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS)

The Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS) is a forum for discussion of dynamic languages, their implementation and application. While mature dynamic languages including Smalltalk, Lisp, Scheme, Self, Prolog, and APL continue to grow and inspire new converts, a new generation of dynamic scripting languages such as JavaScript, Python, Ruby, PHP, Tcl, Lua, and Clojure are successful in a wide range of applications. DLS provides a place for researchers and practitioners to come together and share their knowledge, experience, and ideas for future research and development.


DLS 2014

Past Events

Steering Committee Members


  • Carl Friedrich Bolz, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, Germany (PC chair 2013)
  • Theo D'Hondt, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium (PC chair 2011)
  • Richard Gabriel, IBM Research, USA
  • Jeremy Gibbons, Oxford University, UK (SIGPLAN)
  • Robert Hirschfeld, Hasso-Plattner-Institut at the University of Potsdam, Germany (SC chair)
  • Manuel Serrano, Inria Sophia-Antipolis, France (PC chair 2015)
  • Dave Thomas, Bedarra Research Labs, Canada (emeritus)
  • Laurence Tratt, King's College London, UK (PC chair 2014)
  • Alessandro Warth, Google, USA (PC chair 2012)


  • Pascal Costanza, Intel ExaScience Lab, Belgium
  • Roel Wuyts, IMEC, Belgium