Virtual Execution Environments (VEE)

The goal of Virtual Execution Environments is to be a first-rate research forum that brings together leading practitioners and researchers in the broad area of virtualization, which includes topics such as high-level language virtual machines (JVM, CLR, etc.), process and system virtual machines, translators, machine emulators, and simulators.

VEE Fast Facts

Location: Istanbul, Turkey, co-located with ASPLOS
General Chair: Ada Gavrilovska (Georgia Tech)
Program co-Chairs: Angela Demke Brown (University of Toronto) and Bjarne Steensgaard (Microsoft )
Dates: March 14-15, 2015

VEE Steering Committee

The current VEE steering committee is:

Web Pages of Previous Conferences

VEE 2014 (Salt Lake City, Utah)
VEE 2013 (Houston, Texas)
VEE 2012 (London, UK)
VEE 2011 (Newport Beach, CA)
VEE 2010 (Pittsburgh, PA)
VEE 2009 (Washington, DC)
VEE 2008 (Seattle, WA)
VEE 2007 (San Diego, CA)
VEE 2006 (Ottawa, Canada)
VEE 2005 (Chicago, IL)

VEE Steering Committee Composition

The VEE steering committee (SC) comprises past general and program chairs and a USENIX representative, assuming USENIX continues to co-sponsor the event.
Membership on the steering committee will be updated as follows:


The general and program chair of the most recent VEE conference will be invited to join the SC, if they are not already members.


When the conference has been held for a number of years, members will be removed from the committee based on the date of the last time they were general or program chair of VEE.

The rotation of the SC membership occurs prior to the election of the new SC chair each (see below).

As long as USENIX remains a sponsor of VEE, there will remain a USENIX representative on the SC. This is an exception to the rules above for rotating people off the committee.

The chair of the steering committee is determined by a majority vote of the steering committee members after each conference. In most years, we expect a new chair to be elected annually. The previous General Chair (or some other well-defined SC member) becomes SC Chair until a new SC Chair is elected.